This award was sponsored by Professor Emeritus Colin Pearson to acknowledge an AICCM member or research team who has undertaken substantial research in the field of material conservation, and who has shared this information within the national and/or international material conservation profession via the AICCM Bulletin.

2023 – MaryJo Lelyved

MaryJo has made a critical contribution to the conservation profession through her research on foresight futures and environmental scanning. Her paper: ‘Foresight for Cultural Materials Preservation: The Role of Environmental Scanning in Conservation’ in the AICCM Bulletin was one of the first on the topic of ‘futures’ in conservation. MaryJo translated these concepts to the heritage conservation sector, particularly Australia and provided insights into ‘what future’ and ‘for whom.’ MaryJo has demonstrated sustained research, practice, mentorship, strategic planning and leadership. Using the tools and principles of foresight MaryJo Lelyveld has deeply and pragmatically engaged with worldwide and local concerns, and our anticipated futures.

Past recipients

As you can see, our records are incomplete. If you can help fill in the blanks we would love to hear from you.