AICCM Conservator of the Year

This award, inaugurated in 1995, recognises and rewards individuals whose extraordinary efforts have directly contributed to the raising of standards in their workplace or within their conservation field. It is also awarded to people who have worked to promote the profession of conservation and its activities to the wider community and who have encouraged membership of the AICCM. 

2016 Conservator of the Year

Conservator of the Year Nicole TseNicole Tse — Grimwade Centre for the Conservation of Cultural Materials

A member of AICCM for more than 20 years, involved in the organising committees for IIC in 2000, and ICOM-CC in 2014 and AICCM Bulletin editor since 2013, Nicole has been awarded 2016 Conservator of the year in recognition of her networking, leadership and collaborations in SE Asia.

Her role in APTCCARN, the Asia Pacific Tropical Climate Conservation Art Network and her involvement in disaster recovery activities in Bohol, the Phillipines following the earthquake and Typhoon Haiyan. Through her role in APTCCARN, Nicole has successfully gained support from the Australian-ASEAN Council of DFAT to present an international forum, Natural Disasters and Cultural Heritage in the Phillipines: Recovery, reconstruction and measures of effectiveness in 2017 in conjunction with the National Museum of the Phillipines.

Past winners

  • 2015 - Tess Evans
  • 2013 – Kristen Phillips
  • 2011 – Lydia Egunnike
  • 2010 – Deborah Lau
  • 2009 – Alexandra Ellen
  • 2008 – Alice Cannon
  • 2006 – Kim Morris
  • 2005 – Amanda Pagliarino
  • 2004 – Robyn Sloggett, Detlev Lueth and Angeletta Leggio
  • 2002 – Julian Bickersteth
  • 2001 – Jude Fraser
  • 1999 – Malgorzata Sawicki
  • 1998 – Donna Midwinter
  • 1997 - Karen Coote
  • 1995 – Colin Pearson

As you see, our records are incomplete. If you can help fill in the blanks we would love to hear from you. Email us: