Outstanding Service to the Conservation Profession

This award recognises an AICCM member or institutional member who has contributed to the profession either over the long term or a single project through at least two of the following:

  • active involvement in delivering conservation seminars, workshops and other educational/learning opportunities;
  • mentoring of other conservators;
  • promotion of conservators and/or conservation within and beyond the profession
  • by working with allied professions and the public.

2016 Winner

Cobus Van Breda

Cobus van Breda

As AICCM publications officer, Cobus has been instrumental in the successful transformation of AICCM Bulletin from in-house

management to publication and distribution by Taylor and Francis, and the transition of the AICCM newsletter to an e-publication as well as the management of AICCM web services. Cobus' intelligent, sensible and full of good humour contribution to the profession, all in a volunteer capacity as publications officer cannot be overstated.


2015 Winner

Marcelle ScottMarcelle Scott, University of Melbourne

Marcelle has undertaken many roles within AICCM, including editor of the Bulletin and national president. Her contribution to teaching and course development at the Grimwade Centre for Cultural Materials Conservation has been recognised by numerous awards from the University of Melbourne including the 2011 Vice Chancellor’s Award for Engagement. She has been an inspirational mentor for countless conservation students and emerging professionals, particular the nine cohorts of students she oversaw between 2004 and 2012 at the Centre for Cultural Material Conservation. Her commitment to conservation teaching and pedagogical theory is reflected in her PhD, titled ‘Re-examining conservation precepts: implications for interdisciplinarity’.

Past recipients

As you see, our records are incomplete. If you can help fill in the blanks we would love to hear from you. Email us: secretariat@aiccm.org.au