Student of the Year

Nominated by the University of Melbourne’s Centre for Cultural Materials Conservation or the University of Canberra, this award recognises outstanding coursework students studying conservation practice at a tertiary level in Australia who have contributed significantly to the activities of the AICCM and have begun to develop their careers by becoming actively involved in the profession.

2016 Student of the Year Award

In acknowledgement of their outstanding academic achievements, engagement with the conservation profession and contribution to AICCM, the 2016 students of the year are:

University of Canberra
Di Knight

Student of the Year Di Knight

Grimwade Centre for Cultural Materials Conservation
Eleanor Vallier

Student of the Year Eleanor Vallier

2015 Student of the Year Award

Ainslee Meredith

University of Melbourne: Ainslee Meredith

As well as contributing to a large number of volunteer conservation projects, achieveing excellent academic results and demonstrating a deep commitment to community engagement, Meredith has served as a member of the editorial assistant committee for the AICCM Bulletin and helped oversee the transition to Maney Publishing. The Grimwade foresees Ainslee becoming a major thinker in the field of conservation and making a significant contribution to the profession both in Australia and internationally.

University of Canberra: Robyn Victory

Robyn Victory

Over the past two years Robyn has run a series of lunchtime seminars at the University of Canberra, undertaken emergency treatment of infested collection objects and improvements to storage conditions, assisted with installation of the Curious Corridors Display program at the University as well as volunteering at the National Gallery of Australia and undertaking an internship at the Australian War Memorial.

Robyn described her paintings conservation internship at the Australian War Memorial under the supervision of Alana Treasure as the highlight of her studies so far, along with the student seminar series which she believes has inspired students to take on conservation internships at home and overseas. The University of Canberra staff look forward to seeing Robyn pursue her passion for paintings conservation in the coming years.

Past award winners

2014: Hakim Rahim and Diana Tay
2013: Krysten Bullen and Fiona Hernandez
2012: Lisa Yeats and Sara Freeman
2011: Celia Cramer and Jennifer O'Connell
2006: Marika Kocsis
2004: Rhiannon Walker
2002: Belinda Gourley
2001: Jaishree Srinivason
2000: Maria Kubik
1999: Renita Ryan, Kate Jones
1998: Stephanie Bailey
1997: Caroline Fry
1996: Anne Carter
1993: Cobus van Breda
1992: Tracey Golds
1991:  Graham Clegg and Sue Valis


As you see, our records are incomplete. If you can help fill in the blanks we would love to hear from you. Email us: